17:00 PM

The Women’s Board of Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital Awards Over $48,000 in Academic Scholarships

The Women’s Board of Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital recently granted its annual academic health care scholarships to 28 students who are pursuing health care-related education. Each year, the Board selects winners on the basis of criteria such as outstanding academic achievement and exceptional promise in the field of health care. A number of this year’s scholarships were awarded to Lake Forest Hospital nurses who are continuing their education.

The Board awarded:
• $5,000 Marion Warner Hodgkins Scholarship
• $3,500 Helen Dick Bronson Scholarship
• $2,000 Christina Schulte Fisher Scholarship
• 25 A.B. Dick Jr. Scholarships, ranging from $1,250 to $2,000 each.

The Marion Warner Hodgkins Scholarship is named in honor of the founder and first president of the Women’s Board and recognizes individuals with exceptional talent and promise. Phillip Maslana is the recipient of the scholarship this year. Phillip is a nurse manager in operating room services who has been recognized for his outstanding leadership qualities. In pursuing an Advanced Practice Degree, Phillip aspires to achieve his vision of administrative leadership as transformational leadership.

The Helen Dick Bronson Scholarship was established in 2009 in memory of A.B. Dick Jr.’s daughter. Helen was a member of the Women’s Board for 60 years and served as president from 1962 to 1965. The Helen Dick Bronson Scholarship is awarded to one employee of Northwestern Medicine Lake Forest Hospital who position involves direct patient contact, shows exceptional talent and promise, and who has been employed at the hospital for at least one year. The winner of this year's award is Jolly Macwan. Jolly is an ICU nurse who is pursuing an Advanced Practice Degree. His work in the ICU has inspired him to continue to serve the diverse community of patients that Lake Forest Hospital serves and to empower patients to take control of their health

“I am so pleased to be a part of the Scholarship Committee,” said Madeleine Bronson Dugan, granddaughter of A. B. Dick, Jr., daughter of Helen Dick Bronson and current member of the Women’s Board. “To recognize these deserving individuals who are so dedicated to their craft is truly an honor.”

The Christina Schulte Fisher Scholarship was established in 2007 to honor the exceptional volunteer service of Mrs. Fisher. Her invaluable commitment to and support of Lake Forest Hospital through membership on the Board of Directors and the Women’s Board, have been of immeasurable benefit to the hospital and the community. This year's award was presented to Brittany Maher. Brittany is a nurse in the outpatient oncology department who is recognized for her ongoing commitment to the oncology team and the patients served by the department. She is pursuing a Nurse Practitioner Degree with aspirations to continue her work in the oncology department at Northwestern Medicine Lake Forest Hospital.

A.B. Dick Jr. was the first Board of Directors Chairman, and his family donated the land for Lake Forest Hospital. The scholarships are supported through the fundraising efforts of the Women’s Board.

The winners of the 25 scholarships named in honor of A.B. Dick Jr. include:
• Lauren Belleville
• Oksana Boykovska
• Kerrie Bustos
• Mary Jo Cameron
• Stacy Caputo
• Rebecca Dahm
• Jami Dale
• Paulina Deren
• Ryan Garcia
• Jessica Hennum
• John Japczyk
• Paula Kaufman
• James Kim
• Caitlin Kiszka
• Mechelle Krause
• Adam Levy
• Megan Mitchell
• Jill Montgomery
• Janet Paredes
• Casey Patterson
• Patricia Perez
• Juliel Ravago
• Elizabeth Tidei-Santamaria
• Noemi Tinajero
• Julia Zdanowicz

Sue Wagener, 2020 Scholarship Committee Chair said, “This group of recipients really raised the bar with their dedication and excellence in their chosen healthcare pursuits. The Women’s Board is honored to support the educational pursuits of these very worthy scholars.”

For more information about Northwestern Medicine, visit news.nm.org/about-northwestern-medicine.html.